The first time…

Here’s another writing prompt from Writer’s Write.

medium_Writing_Prompt_216

The first time I saw him was September 9, 2011.  It was a Friday night.  A friend gave me tickets to an art opening.  I figured it would be a good excuse to get dressed up & drink wine.  I still remember exactly what I was wearing – a black/white cocktail dress, my grandmothers jet beads & heels.  I had recently reverted to my natural hair color.

I recruited a friend to come with me, not yet comfortable walking into a party alone.  We mingled, we ate, it was nice to be out & about again.  As we were sitting at a table, we were approached by an old friend.  That’s what I love about living in my hometown, always running into old friends or acquaintances.  We caught up for a brief time & drifted away toward other acquaintances.

I was standing at the bar, waiting for another glass of wine.  As my eyes scanned the room, they landed on my old friend.  He was talking to a man that I had never seen.  I noted the dark hair, the well-cut clothes.  He was certainly attractive.  And then he smiled.  I knew that I had to meet him.

One thought on “The first time…

  1. The first time I saw her was September 9, 2011. It was a Friday night. A friend gave me tickets to an art opening. I figured it would be a good excuse to hit on beautiful girls & drink Vodka tonics. I still remember exactly what I was wearing – camel plaid khakis and a sold black Brooks Brothers polo. I had recently switched from wearing Johnston and Murphy tassel loafers to Cole Hann wingtips.

    I walked into the party alone trying to be the center of attention. We mingled, we ate, it was nice to be out & about night after night. As I was standing at the bar she was sitting across the room at a table surrounded by friends. I was thinking do I go up to her now or try to catch her alone? Is that Chardonnay or Pinot Grigio?

    I was standing beside the bar, waiting for another Vodka tonic. As my eyes scanned the room, their she was right beside me. The momet had come. I had to do it. I smoothly said to the bartender we will both take another. And then she smiled. I knew that I had to meet her.

Leave a Reply

